The Partners

Centre for European Policy Studies, Justice and Home Affairs Section  (project coordination)

Situated in the nexus between academia, business and the public sector, CEPS is an independent analyst of European policy since 1983. CEPS’ core business is the conduct of policy research on European affairs carried out via its own in-house research programmes and through collaborative research networks involving the active participation of other institutes and specialists. The Justice and Home Affairs (JHA) Section at CEPS examines the issues and dilemmas related to the construction of an Area of Freedom, Security and Justice, its internal and external dimensions and how these impact on the freedom and security of individuals. Read more >>

 Team Members



Maastricht University, Faculty of Law   (Scientific Coordination)

The Faculty of Law at Maastricht University consists of approximately 2,500 students and 250 staff members. Faculty research is concentrated within two research schools: the Human Rights research school and the Ius Commune research school. Comparative law, international and European law and the relationship with national law and human rights are the most important fields of research in these schools. Four times a year, the faculty publishes the Maastricht Journal on European and Comparative Law. Research into European law and comparative law is published in the Ius Commune Europaeum (Intersentia). Furthermore, the Faculty publishes research results in its own series of working papers. The Maastricht Graduate School of Law coordinates indirect government funding, funding from contract research, organises the education of PhD students, faculty conferences and publications and coordinates the Ius Commune research school. Read more >>

 Team Members



University of Liège    

The University of Liège is a full university located in Wallonia, Belgium. Its nine faculties offer state of the art education to more than 20.000 students. The Law School of the University hosts the departments of Law and Political Science. It counts on more than 100 academics and some 60 researchers to carry out large scale research projects as well as individual research efforts. It offers degrees ranging from the BA (3 years) to the LL.M (5 years) and PhD. The Law School has strong links with universities located in most parts of the world. Read more >>

 Team Member



European University Institute

The European University Institute (EUI) is a unique international centre for doctorate and post-doctorate studies and research, situated in the Tuscan hills overlooking Florence. Since its establishment 40 years ago by the six founding members of the then European Communities, the EUI has earned a reputation as a leading international academic institution with a European focus. The four departments – Economics, History and Civilization, Law, and Political and Social Sciences – host scholars from more than 60 countries, studying for the Institution’s doctorate or one-year masters in law or European economics.

Furthermore, the Robert Schuman Centre for Advanced Studies (RSCAS) focuses on inter-disciplinary, comparative and policy research on the major issues affecting European societies, while the Max Weber Programme for Post-doctoral Studies prepares fellows for a career in academia. The EUI’s distinctly international environment offers unique academic training, enriches the intellectual experience and provides exceptional opportunities for academics across disciplines and borders. Read more >>

 Team Members



The Danish Institute for Human Rights (DIHR) 

The Danish Institute for Human Rights (DIHR) was established as the Danish Centre for Human Rights by a parliamentary decision in 1987. In 2002, DIHR was established as a national human rights institution through the Act on the Establishment of the Danish Institute for International Studies and Human Rights (Act No. 411 of 6 June 2002). According to the Act, the Institute must endeavour to strengthen the collection, development and communication of knowledge about human rights in Denmark and Europe, and internationally.

DIHR must base it activities on the human rights recognised by the international community at any given time, including in particular the human rights laid down in the Universal Declaration, the conventions of the United Nations and the Council of Europe, and the civil rights contained in the Danish Constitution. The Institute must promote human rights work in times of peace and during armed conflict. This applies to research, advisory services to the Danish parliament and the promotion of education and public information as well as in other connections. Read more >>

 Team Member



The Interdisciplinary Centre for Comparative Research in the Social Sciences (ICCR - Budapest Foundation)   

ICCR – Budapest Foundation is an independent, non-profit research institute founded in 1991 by ICCR-Vienna. The Foundation operates as a non-profit organisation, independent from governmental institutions.

The main activities of ICCR-Budapest Foundation are: Support and implementation of applied, multi-disciplinary and comparative research with focus on the field of migration and xenophobia; Organising and coordinating local and international conferences on the topic of migration and xenophobia; Supporting post-graduate students and researchers; Compiling, reproducing and distributing research reports on the situation of migrants across the country. Read more >>

 Team Member



University of León     

The University of Leon was formally opened in 1979, although some of its facilities data back over 150 years. The academic offer is divided between its two campuses: The Vegazana campus, the most important as it houses the majority of buildings and courses, located on the outskirts of the city of Leon. The other campus is Ponferrada, situated in the town of the same name. The University of Leon offers a large number of qualifications, spread across fifty different areas. As a young university, it has modern facilities and technical equipment.

Research is important to the University, and concerted efforts are made in this area, with a large part of resources devoted to it. The research structure is organized around university departments, researchers, research groups, institutes, research services and technological centres. There are currently nearly two hundred research teams and a larger total number of research projects. Read more >>

 Team Member

  • Aurelia Alvarez Rodríguez